Geographical Facts About Kenya

Kenya, located in East Africa is a small country with an area of just 580,000 square kilometers. It is landlocked from the west and borders the Indian Ocean on its east. Kenya is home to Lake Victoria, the second largest freshwater lake in the world. The country is located on the equator, which means it is halfway between the two hemispheres. Discover more interesting geographical facts about Kenya.

Diverse terrains


Mount Kenya is the second highest peak in Africa

Inspite of being a small in area, it a country of undoubted contrasts. It has a fine shoreline with the Indian Ocean touching its border on the west. It is possible that during a trip to Kenya, you will come across a fantastic coastline, but you may also come across volcanic and mountain areas, or go through the Rift Valley, or see green hills, plains, or even desert steppes. Kenya contains a bit of everything.

Different geographical regions in Kenya can be classified as the Rift Valley and associated highlands, the eastern plateau forelands, the Lake Victoria basin, the semiarid and arid areas of the north and south, and the coast.

Kenya also has African characteristic Savannahs.

Lake Victoria in Africa is the second largest freshwater lake in the world.

Lake Victoria, one of the most prominent lakes in Africa is located on its western border. It was named after Queen Victoria by British explorer, John Hanning. Lake Victoria is also where River Nzoia flows into.

Mount Kenya is the second highest mountain in Africa only after Mount Kilimanjaro. It stands staggering 5,199 meters tall. This mountain also experiences snowfall on high altitude.

With surging global temperatures, the glaciers of Mount Kenya, like Lewis Glacier are slowly melting away.

Kenyan Rift Valley crosses the country from north to south with a chain of lakes and several volcanoes mostly inactive.


Kenya has a coastline of about 400 kilometers and shares borders with Somalia, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Uganda and Tanzania.


The climate of Kenya is divided into two seasons, the dry season and the rain season. The first goes from December to March and from July to October. And the second occurs between the months of April to June and the month of November.

The temperature does not vary much throughout the year and ranges between 31 and 21 degrees Celsius. The temperature on high peaks like Mount Kenya can drop fairly low. Especially night temperatures that make the soil freeze lead to soilification.


Kenya has 3 major rivers, Galana, Tana, and Nzoia. Nzoia river rises from Mount Elgon and empties into Lake Victoria. Another important river Mount Ewaso Ng’iro originates from Mount Kenya.

National Parks

Kenya’s natural beauty attracts more than a million tourists every year. Its national parks are considered one of the most beautiful in the world. National Parks in Kenya include Tsavo East National Park, Amboseli National Park, Maasai Mara National Park, and Nairobi National Park. Amboseli National Park offers majestic views of Mount Kilimanjaro.

Leave a comment