Facts About Mexican Independence Day

Facts About Mexican Independence Day

The Mexican War of Independence began at dawn on September 16, 1810, when Father Miguel Hidalgo gave the call “Grito de Dolores” and ended on September 27, 1821 (11 years later). During these years, happened countless anecdotes, stories, and legends. Read on to unravel the Mexican independence day facts, history, celebrations, parade and food, the movement that made Mexico an “independent” and “democratic” Republic.

1. Independence recognized officially 15 years later

Spain did not recognize the Mexican independence for the 15 years. It finally accepted its defeat when, in 1836, Queen María Cristina renounced her property and Spain tried to recover its territory in Mexico, but was unsuccessful.

2. Why does Mexico have two acts of independence?

In the Act of Independence signed on September 28, 1821, it was established that Mexico would be recognized as an Empire. It was after the fall of Emperor Iturbide (1823), when the act was renewed and Mexico was established as a “Republic” in place of “Empire”.

3. Miguel Hidalgo

Miguel Hidalgo was the initiator of the Mexican Independence movement. He became one of the most revered national heroes in the country. Hidalgo had planned the uprising against the Spanish regime. On September 16, 1810, Hidalgo gave a speech early in the morning in the small town of Dolores, in which he called on the Mexicans to fight against the Spanish regime.

At this speech he allegedly called: “Viva México! Viva la Independencia! Vivan los héroes! (” Long live Mexico! Long live the independence! Long live the heroes! “). The struggle for independence lasted until September 27, 1821. Mexico spent 300 years under the Spanish rule.

Today, on the 16th of September, Mexico’s Independence Day celebrations are carried on with huge fervor nationwide.

3. Women in Mexican War of Independence

Leona Vicario was a key figure in the Mexican War of Independence. She dedicated herself to informing the insurgents about movements Mexico City.

Josefa Ortiz de Domínguez made her name in history for her bravery. She risked her life in the war of independence. She is known for her role in alerting the rebel insurgents that the Queretaro Conspiracy had been discovered by the Spanish.

A woman named La costeña provided food to the warriors at the Cuautla site, while risking her own life.

4. Why Independence Day is celebrated on September 15th

The reason why Mexicans celebrate September 15th as the independence day and not the 16th is that Porfirio Diaz’s birthday falls on September 15th. Porfirio Diaz was a Mexican general and politician who served seven terms as President of Mexico

5. Two Day Celebration

Mexicans celebrate the anniversary of their independence each year not just on September 15th. The celebration lasts for 2 days. September 15th is celebrated for the reenactment of El Grito de Dolores (the cry of Dolores) and September 16th is a nation-wide celebration that is similar to that of July 4th celebrations in the USA.

6. The priest who initiated the revolution was captured within a year

Father Hidalgo, who initiated the revolution on the red letter day of September 15th was captured and killed within a year of his speech. Even after his death, the revolution continued for 11 years after his death.

7. Both USA and France supported the revolution

Although France supported the Mexican war of independence, it has its own selfish reasons to invade Mexico itself. In fact, USA supported oppositions against the Spanish regime in Mexico even before the revolution began.

8. Mega celebrations to commemorate the red letter day

Every year, throughout September, Mexican cities and towns are decorated with Mexican flags. The day is a national holiday. Mexican independence day is also celebrated in American cities like Los Angeles, Houston and Texas.

9. Confused with Cinco de Mayo

Cinco de Mayo is another important day in the Mexican history that is often confused with Mexico’s independence day. Cinco de Mayo is celebrated for Mexico’s victory over France in Battle of Puebla, 1862.

10. First emperor of independent Mexico

The Spanish rule began in Mexico in 1521 and lasted till 1821. The first emperor of independent Mexico was Agustin de Iturbide. His empire was short-lived and only lasted 2 years. After which, Mexico was declared a democratic republic with Guadalupe Victoria sworn in as the first Mexican president in 1824.

Leave a comment